This site makes use of cookies to enhance browsing experience and improve our website. For further information see our Privacy Policy. By continuing your use of our website you agree to our use of cookies.

Hans List Fonds

In memory of Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans List, founder of AVL List GmbH, Hans List Fonds was launched in occasion of his 100th birthday. AVL is the world's largest independent company for the development, simulation and testing technology of powertrains (hybrid, combustion engines, transmissions, electric motors, batteries and software) for passenger cars, trucks and large engines.

Scholarships of Hans List Fonds

To encourage students and graduates of Styrian universities, every year "Hans List Fonds" awards 6 scholarships to outstanding students. In particular, innovative master theses and dissertations in the field of internal combustion engines development and drive technology and related fields will be considered. Four scholarships amounting to 5,000 € for dissertations and two scholarships amounting to 3,000 € for master theses will be awarded. The total value of the scholarships is 26,000 €.

Criteria / Submissions

Eligible students of the University of Technology Graz, the University of Leoben and the FH Joanneum-University of Applied Sciences, who have outstanding academic progress and who are currently writing a thesis or dissertation can apply. Master thesis, which are already finished or dissertations in an advanced status are also accepted. 

Submissions can be sent with a proof of an outstanding academic progress and documentation on the work.

In the brief description of the content (two A4 pages maximum) the following criteria should be considered:

  • Innovation
  • Benefits to the environment
  • Usability

Submission deadline: July 5, 2019

Please send the submission documents with your CV to the following address:

Hans List Fonds
c\o AVL List GmbH
Hans-List-Platz 1
8020 Graz

or via E-Mail

Winners 2018

5,000 € each for their dissertation:

  • DI Christoph Breitfuß (TU Graz): „Analyse mechanischer Vorgänge in Li-Ionen Pouchzellen unter Crashbelastung und deren  Modellbildung in einer Finite-Elemente-Software“,
  • DI Igor Milosevic (Montanuniversität Leoben): „Konzept einer Lebensdauerbewertung für dünnwandige Bauteile unter Berücksichtigung der Mikrostruktur“,
  • DI Johannes Rummetshofer (TU Graz): "Modellbasierte Regelung von dedizierten Hybridgetrieben” und
  • DI Peter Karl Rumpelmayer (TU Graz): „Gesamtsystembetrachtung eines Dieselmotors mit Brennraumisolierung“.



3,000 € each for their master thesis:

  • DI Andreas Hackl (TU Graz): “Experimentelle Validierung von nichtlinearen Batteriemodellen für Strategieuntersuchungen von Hybrid- und Elektrofahrzeugen” und
  • Karin Tieber (TU Graz): „Temperature distribution modelling of an automotive wet clutch disk“.

Assignment / Jury

The award is assigned by the Board of Trustees of Hans List Fonds.

The Board members are:

  • Dr. Birgit Strimitzer-Riedler
  • Univ.-Prof. DI Dr. Helmut Eichlseder
  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Dr.h.c. Harald Kainz
  • DI Karl Wojik
  • Prof. DI Dr.h.c. Helmut List