Hans List Fonds


Hans List Fonds

In memory of Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans List, founder of AVL List GmbH, Hans List Fonds was launched in occasion of his 100th birthday. AVL is the world's largest independent company for the development, simulation and testing technology of powertrains (hybrid, combustion engines, transmissions, electric motors, batteries and software) for passenger cars, trucks and large engines.

Scholarships of Hans List Fonds

To encourage students and graduates of Styrian universities, "Hans List Fonds" awarded 6 scholarships to outstanding students in 2017. In particular, innovative master theses and dissertations in the field of internal combustion engines development and drive technology and related fields will be considered. Two scholarships amounting to 5,000 € for dissertations and four scholarships amounting to 3,000 € for master theses will be awarded. The total value of the scholarships is 26,000 €.

Criteria / Submissions

Eligible students of the University of Technology Graz, the University of Leoben and the FH Joanneum-University of Applied Sciences, who have outstanding academic progress and who are currently writing a thesis or dissertation can apply. Master thesis, which are already finished or dissertations in an advanced status are also accepted. 

Submissions can be sent with a proof of an outstanding academic progress and documentation on the work.

In the brief description of the content (two A4 pages maximum) the following criteria should be considered:

  • Innovation
  • Benefits to the environment
  • Usability

Please send the submission documents with your CV to the following address:

Hans List Fonds
c\o AVL List GmbH
Hans-List-Platz 1
8020 Graz

or via E-Mail


Winners 2017

5,000 € each for their dissertation:

  • DI Philipp Bergmann (Montanuniversität Leoben): „Bewertung von Mischreibungsprozessen großflächiger Kontakte und deren Einfluss auf die Lebensdauer“,
  • DI (FH) Wolfgang Ebner (TU Graz): „Ein modelbasierter Ansatz für die Auslegung und Regelung eines optimalen elektrohydraulischen Systems für Automatikgetriebe“,
  • DI Jens Gächter (TU Graz): „Evaluation of rotor position sensor characteristics and impact on control quality of permanent synchronous machines (PMSM)” und
  • DI Michael Schneider (TU Graz): „Untersuchung der Belagsbildung in der Ansaugstrecke von PKW-Dieselmotoren“.



3,000 € each for their master thesis:

  • David Kindl (FH Joanneum): “Frequency based signal identification in the time domain for fuel cell online diagnostics” und
  • Julian Schubert (TU Graz): „Simulationsbasierte Untersuchung von Abgasnachbehandlungskonzepten für geringste Stickoxidemissionen am Nutzfahrzeugmotor“.

Assignment / Jury

The award is assigned by the Board of Trustees of Hans List Fonds.

The Board members are:

  • Dr. Birgit Strimitzer-Riedler
  • Univ.-Prof. DI Dr. Helmut Eichlseder
  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Dr.h.c. Harald Kainz
  • DI Karl Wojik
  • Prof. DI Dr.h.c. Helmut List